Coaches Selected to Elite Program

Posted on Jun 23 2021

Coaches from seven states and territories have been included in the next intake of the Basketball Australia Elite Female Coach Advancement Program.

The Elite Female Coach Advancement Program (EFCAP) was introduced last year and has been designed to provide female coaches in the pathway with professional development and education, along with mentoring and peer support.

This is the second intake for the program and features eighteen coaches from various levels of the sport, who will engage in a series of on-line and face to face development opportunities during the next 12 months.

Basketball Australia is committed to improving the numbers and depth of female coaches in the country and this program provides valuable technical, tactical and leadership development for the participants.

In announcing the next intake of coaches, Basketball Australia Director of High Performance Coach Development Peter Lonergan said the group was diverse and included coaches working at all levels of the sport across Australia.

“We are excited to have our second EFCAP coaching group in place and to have such a diverse range of coaches involved in this valuable program,” he said.

“To have coaches who are working with elite junior athletes, to WNBL assistant coaches and NBL1 mentors provides us with a great mix of talented female coaches and we look forward to working with the group over the next 12 months.”

Included in the program is Liz Mills, who recently led the Kenyan Men’s National team to qualification for FIBA AfroBasket as head coach. The new intake also includes 2008 Beijing Olympian Emma McDonald, along with Chemist Warehouse WNBL Life Members Deanna Black, Nat Hurst and Sam Woosnam.

Coaches included in the program for 2021/22 are –

Aja Parham                                    Queensland

Deanna Black                                 Western Australia

Emma McDonald                          Queensland

Jacqui O’Neill                                 Victoria

Jenny Lonergan                             Australia Capital Territory

Katherine McPhail                        South Australia

Kerryn Mitchell                             Victoria

Lauren King                                   New South Wales

Lauryn Curtin                                New South Wales

Liz Mills                                          New South Wales

Lynne Holland                              South Australia

Mahaela Jackson                          Victoria

Natalie Hurst                                Australia Capital Territory

Rebecca Dudic                              New South Wales

Rebecca Triffett                            Tasmania

Renae Garlepp                              New South Wales

Samantha Woosnam                   Victoria

Sarah Graham                               Queensland/BA Centre of Excellence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *